VIENNA Micro-CT LAB

Vienna Micro-CT Lab – Core Facility for Micro-Computed Tomography

Althanstraße 12, 1090 Vienna, AUSTRIA

The Vienna Micro-CT Lab at the Department of Anthropology is a Core Facility of the University of Vienna. Our collaboration partners are the Center for Pathophysiology, Infectiology and Immunology of the Medical University of Vienna and the Bernhard Gottlieb University Clinic of Dentistry Vienna. Our lab is specialized in high-resolution digitization (micrometer range) of biological, medical, archaeological, art-historical, and technical research objects.

We take inquiries for µ-CT scans of all kinds of objects, e.g., fossils, zoological and botanical samples, osteological probes, archaeological artefacts, music instruments, drilling cores, rock samples, technical components, material samples, etc.

How can I get a µCT-Scan?

Our Viscom X8060 was custom-built according to our needs and can, in contrat to common µ-CT scanners, handle objects in a size range from a pinhead to a human skull. Moreover we have the ability to perform spiral scans. Thus we can scan also elongated objects such as thigh bones or violins.

The facility is equipped with a modern digital flat panel detector and a micro focus tube which delivers up to 190kV. This allows to penetrate very dense objects such as fossils or drilling cores.

VIENNA Micro-CT LAB

Vienna Micro-CT Lab – Core Facility for Micro-Computed Tomography

Althanstraße 12, 1090 Vienna, AUSTRIA

Das Vienna Micro-CT Lab am Department für Anthropologie ist eine Core Facility der Universität Wien. Unsere Kooperationspartner sind das Zentrum für Pathophysiologie, Infektiologie und Immunologie der Medizinischen Universität Wien und die Bernhard Gottlieb Universitätszahnklinik Wien. Unser Labor ist spezialisiert auf die hochauflösenden Digitalisierung im Mikrometerbereich von biologischen, medizinischen, archäologischen, kunsthistorischen und technischen Untersuchungsobjekten.

Wir übernehmen auf Anfrage µ-CT Scans von Objekten, z.B. Fossilien, zoologische und botanische Präparate, osteologische Proben, archäologische Artefakte, Musikinstrumente, Bohrkerne, Gesteinsproben, technischen Werkstücken, Materialproben, etc.
Wie kann ich einen µCT-Scan bekommen?

Unsere Viscom X8060 wurde speziell für unsere Anforderung konstruiert und kann im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen µ-CT Scannern Objekte in der Größenordnung vom Stecknadelkopf bis zu einem menschlichen Schädel handhaben. Außerdem verfügen wir über die Möglichkeit, Spiral-Scans zu fahren. Dadurch können auch längliche Objekte wie Oberschenkelknochen oder Violinen gescannt werden.

Die Anlage ist mit einem modernen digitalen Flatpaneldetektor und einer Mikrofokusröhre bis 190kV Röhrenspannung ausgestattet, wodurch es möglich wird, auch sehr dichte Objekte (wie etwa Fossilien oder Bohrkerne) zu durchdringen.

micro-ct